Cathy Brightwell, County Collector
P.O. Box 590
300 E. Old Main St.
Yellville, AR 72687
MARION COUNTY REOPENED OFFICE BUILDINGS TO PUBLIC
Marion County Courthouse, Court Annex, and Library are open to the public. However, there will be mandatory procedures in place to comply with the COVID-19 guidelines. Additional information regarding COVID-19 can be found at the Arkansas Department of Health web site.
Please follow some precautions as recommended by the CDC. DO NOT VISIT IF YOU HAVE SIGNS OR SYMPTOMS OF A RESPIRATORY INFECTION SUCH AS FEVER, COUGH, OR SORE THROAT. All HEALTHY VISITORS please: CLEAN your hands after arriving and before leaving. USE a tissue or your sleeve when you cough or sneeze. CLEAN your hands after coughing or sneezing.
COURTHOUSE: Hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Masks are required, social distancing of 6 feet between citizens, offices allow 2 people in office at one time. Circuit and District Judges will have their own procedures for entering courtroom.
The Collector's office collects property taxes to help support schools, cities, roads, jails, and county expenses based on millage rates set by local governments and voters. These taxes are about 1% of the value of your home, car, and other items that you may own.
Property must be assessed between January 1st and May 31st each year. A 10% late assessment fee will be added to anyone assessing personal property after the May 31st deadline. (New purchases will have 30 days after purchase to assess without penalty)
Property tax bills are usually mailed by the end of March and must be paid by Oct. 15 to avoid a penalty. Taxes are due by October 15th the following year. A 10% penalty will be added to Personal Property and Real Estate paid after October 15th plus 10% annual interest on Real Estate.
How do I pay my property taxes?
Taxes may be paid with a check, money order or credit card. Mail checks to the Marion County Collector, P.O. Box 590, Yellville, AR 72687, or visit the Collector's Office in the Courthouse from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday . You may pay over the phone with a credit card. There is also a drop box for your convenience located on the South side of the square near the handicap accessible entrance. If taxes are not paid, license tags cannot be renewed and penalties will be applied. Partial payments are also accepted throughout the year on current taxes.
You can view your tax information at: https://www.actdatascout.com/RealProperty/Arkansas/Marion
Collector Cathy Brightwell